Ramblings of a strange mind

In keeping with my tendency to come up with really interesting perspectives whilst on a fever-induced high I came up with a very interesting phenomena the other day and thought I’d share it.

After having caught a particularly horrific cold I decided to stay in bed for as long as I could – and since I have the inability to just sit there and do nothing for more than like 10 minutes I decided to watch films. For some strange reason fevers also make me appreciate the mindlessness of Disney films as well so I was limited in choice. I thought I’d go for something I hadn’t seen before – which left me with the likes of Cinderella 2, Cinderella 3 and The Little Mermaid 2. This particular entry is in regard to Cinderella 2 and 3.

I didn’t particularly like 3 – only Disney could get away with that much cheese and I don’t get the whole ‘you hold someone’s hand and know you’re gonna be with them forever’ stuff. However 2 was kinda funny, but that’s because it was all about the mice – who were my favourite characters in the first one.

Anywho, I’m drifting off topic – also something that can be blamed on the fever that I’m still running. Basically, has anyone noticed how Cinderella always refers to her Prince as ‘The Prince’ and never by name? I mean even Ariel, in The Little Mermaid, had Prince Eric! This makes me draw a very interesting conclusion about one of our most beloved fairytale princesses – despite all the malarkey about true love, soul mates and whatever, Cinderella married for status! Why else must she feel that she has to continuously say ‘The Prince’?

A mate of mine said that his name could be ‘Prince’. However, if this was the case then how come she didn’t refer to him as ‘Prince’? Why add ‘The’ to it unless she was referring to a title? I mean even ‘My Prince’ sounds slightly better, albeit very possessive, it still doesnt make you think she’s only thinking about what he is title-wise.

 However, I’m not sad enough to go through the credits to see if someone deemed it fit to give the dude a name even after 3 films nor do I care enough to find out if other Disney Princesses had Princes with names beyond ‘Charming’ or ‘Beast’ (now those ARE interesting words to describe the same sort of guy). However, just thought it was an interesting thing to share 🙂

 Not bad for a first entry methinks – I’ll try to make the next one a little less random but no promises 🙂

 Peace 

Leave a comment